Posted by: mygentlecloud | March 26, 2009

Another milestone

One and a half years have passed since my last post. So many things have happened during this time. Writing-wise, I’ve finished my second book, finally 🙂 It took me a good three years to put it together, one chapter per month. It certainly is a better piece than Through the Storm, of that, I am sure. Anyway, it is in the hands of a potential publisher. I’ll just have to keep my fingers crossed and pray hard.

In the meantime, I have a children’s book which will be published. in mid-April this year.  It is a 500 word story for young readers in primary school. The paradox is that it pays much more than the seventy thousand word novels I’ve written.  I am not sure whether to be happy or sad, really. On the positive side, I am now a published author. Hip Hip Hooray!! If it is money I’m after, certainly this avenue would be something I should invest my time in.

But my passion is in novels, the kind which take years to slog it out, with dreamy heroes and incidental heroines similar to the ones my favourite authors dish out. My dream is to create a masterpiece, surpassing theirs, characters who would linger in people’s memory long after they have finished reading it. Now, wouldn’t that be something? Throw in an intrigued (or probably crazed) producer and viola! A movie! A  blockbuster. A legend lives forever. Ah, the price of vanity!

Nothing is impossible. You never know.

But back to bread and butter. My day job still sustains my pockets and saps my energy. I have the second chapter of my third book still at its first paragraph. Is this the proverbial writer’s block I’m inflicted with? I don’t know. I think it is just work, and not me.

Su Yin

http://www.gentlecloudonline.com

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

